printprint this page

LEGAL FACTS

How is Clark, seemingly a freshman in High School able to drive?

Excerpted from: Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles: Teen Driving Guide:

FARM PERMITS

  • Must be at least 14 years of age but less than 16.
  • Parent or guardian consent required.
  • Full test (vision, written, & drive) or Driverís Ed completion slip required.
  • Prior to age 16, applicant must provide affidavit showing at least 50 hours of adult supervised driving, with 10 of those hours being at night, by a licensed driver at least 21 years old. If affidavit is not provided prior to age 16, the driver will remain restricted until age 17 or until affidavit is provided, whichever occurs first. Farm Permit holder may drive to and from school (not school activities); to, from or in connection with any farm related work, or at any time when accompanied by a licensed adult driver 18 years of age or older.

RESTRICTED DRIVERíS LICENSE (CLASS C OR M)

  • Must be 15 years of age but less than 16.
  • Parent or guardian consent required.
  • Driverís Ed completion slip required.
  • Required to have had an Instruction Permit for at least 6 months, during which time the licensee must have completed at least 25 hours of supervised driving. Additional 25 hours required prior to age 16. All 50 hours can be completed anytime after obtaining Instruction Permit.
  • Prior to age 16, applicant must provide affidavit showing at least 50 hours of adult supervised driving, with 10 of those hours being at night, by a licensed driver at least 21 years old. If affidavit is not provided prior to age 16 the driver will remain restricted until age 17 or until affidavit is provided, whichever occurs first.
  • Restricted licensee may drive to and from school (not school activities); to, from or in connection with any employment or farm related work, or at any time when accompanied by a licensed adult driver 18 years of age or older.

What is the Age of Consent in Kansas?

16, according to the Worldwide Age of Consent. However, according to State Marriage Statutes with parental consent, men can marry as young as 14, and women as young as 12. Without parental content, both parties must be at least 18 years old. There is a three day waiting period for marriage licences, and the licence is valid for six months.

Does that mean Lex and Clark can have Big Gay Sex?

Not legally. Check out Privacy Laws: Kansas for the myriad reasons why.

Have a specific legal question?

specifically is a mailing list spicifically tailored for fan fiction authors looking to include legal details in their fiction. It is a low-traffic list, with strict posting guidelines, zero spam or off-topic posts, and is a fantastic resource for fan authors to ensure their work is accurate.

production information | facts sorted by character | episode guide | visual reference guide
smallville and metropolis | lex's cars | legal eagle | snippy bits | music guide | reference links